What We Do

What We Do

At QAST, we have developed a curriculum that nurtures our students’ passion for STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) whilst opening the doors to the world’s top universities. The curriculum has been designed to meet our vision and help students master the knowledge and skills they need to create solutions to the challenges of Qatar and the world. 

Alongside broad academic studies, our students are given projects based on Qatar’s Grand Challenges. These projects enable students to learn through real-world problems and begin to have an impact from day one. Our curriculum helps to inspire and support students, giving them a platform to demonstrate their abilities and grow.
Our Grade 8 and 10 curricula offer a solid foundation of key subject areas, including: 

  • Arabic
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Computer programming
  • Engineering
  • English 
  • French
  • Islamic studies
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Qatar history
  • Social studies

All courses meet or exceed the requirements for schools in Qatar, the US, and UK to ensure our students are able to study anywhere in the world.

Through our unique engineering lessons, students learn not only theoretical engineering practices, but also practical manufacturing skills by hand and using the latest 3D printers, laser cutters, and manufacturing approaches. This builds on their academic knowledge and skills to create innovative students with the knowledge and skills needed to approach problems in a systematic and practical way.

We enhance our curriculum through participation in international trips, competitions, and clubs. 

Our Grade 11 and 12 students will sit internationally-recognized and accredited examinations/assessments through the US College Board (Advanced Placement, AP) or other assessments such as but not limited to UK A level exams, SAT, ACT, etc. Each course curriculum is tailored to the individual students university preferences and the program is designed to ensure they are able to access further study wherever they wish to go. All students in Grades 11 and 12 will take part in internships and research, working with universities and industry on projects related to their studies enhancing their understanding and giving them stand-out experience. Students can select to follow their own interests with routes specifically designed to support interests in engineering, bio-medicine and computing.

At QAST, our field trips enhance our curriculum and help to inspire our students, driving questions that they want to be able to answer. They form a vital area of our curriculum and enable students to really understand Qatar’s Grand Challenges through discussions with experts, researchers, and those in industry working on solutions.

In 2018, we were honored to be the first school to visit Qatar’s largest combined cycle power and desalination plant, Umm Al Houl. During the visit, students quizzed experts on the operation of the plant, challenges to supplying sufficient clean water for Qatar’s growing population, and plans for the future. We were also able to visit the control room and see how the facility is monitored and controlled 24 hours a day. The visit launched a six-week project where students were challenged to answer the question, ‘How can we ensure there is enough clean water to sustain society?

Field trips can also bring subjects to life. In our physics class, we went to a go-kart track to feel the forces that act on drivers, measuring them with phone apps. Back in the physics lab, we were then able to use the data to create graphs and mathematical comparisons. This let us compare data with our experiences and get a better real-world understanding of forces.

Other field trips include to museums, local businesses and industry. Wherever possible we include field trips to support a better understanding of real-world applications for the skills and knowledge students develop at school.

 

Each year, students at QAST have the opportunity to enhance their education through an international trip. These trips are designed to ensure students gain new knowledge and skills and gain a better understanding of different countries and cultures.

In April 2019, our students traveled to the Netherlands to take part in Haarlem’s Model United Nations (MUN). Students represented a country and take part in a committee to solve current, pressing international issues, including those of environmental concern that align with Qatar’s Grand Challenges.

The trip will also gave us opportunities to analyze how the country is creating a sustainable food supply by visiting universities and industrial research facilities. These visits helped our students develop proposals that answer the question - "How can we grow fruit in Qatar?". A challenge set to them by local farmers and producers.


In future years we will develop opportunities to give support to local communities and work with students from similar schools.

 

Working with students we have selected three clubs to run in our inaugural year. As our student body grows we will extend the range and types of clubs we offer to help students explore areas of interest and try new activities.

Mathematics

Mathematics is a favorite subject of our students. Our mathematics club is an opportunity to go beyond the work we do in the classroom and look at how mathematics can be used in different ways. We are taking part in a Mathematics Olympiad for the first time this year and learning techniques to solve unusual mathematical problems. If you love problems and you love trying new things, this club is for you!

Model United Nations (MUN)

The Model United Nations is an “academic simulation” of the problem solving processes involved in the actual United Nations organization. Through participation we will develop our knowledge of the world, leadership, and communication skills. The MUN gives us a unique opportunity to view the world’s challenges through other countries’ eyes and builds empathy and understanding. In April 2019, we took part in a MUN conference in the Netherlands as part of our international trips.

Robotics

At QAST, we have Lego Mindstorm and Ozo robotics kits. These let us try building and programming robots for a variety of applications. In our robotics club, we are learning how to design and code robots to complete tasks and compete in competitions. Our first competition will be Sumobot in early 2019. At the competition, our robots will attempt to push the opposing robot out of a ring. Students are already hard at work designing and programming our first robots – stay tuned to see how we do!

 
We are currently developing an extended range of clubs for the academic year 2019-2020.

What We Do

عناصر برنامجنا

طوّرنا في أكاديمية قطر للعلوم والتكنولوجيا منهجًا أكاديميًا يثري شغف الطلاب في مجالات العلوم والتكنولوجيا والهندسة والرياضيات، ويمهّد لهم الطريق للالتحاق بأفضل الجامعات في العالم. لقد صُمّم المنهج الأكاديمي بما يتوافق مع رؤيتنا، ويساعد الطلاب في إتقان المعارف والمهارات اللازمة لابتكار حلول تعالج التحديات الكبرى في دولة قطر والعالم أجمع.
وإلى جانب الدراسات الأكاديمية الواسعة، ينخرط طلابنا في مشروعات قائمة على التحديات الكبرى لدولة قطر، وتمكّن هذه المشروعات الطلاب من التعلّم عبر معالجة مشكلات واقعية، وتمكّنهم منذ اليوم الأول في إحداث أثر في محيطهم. ويساعد منهجنا الأكاديمي في إلهام الطلاب ودعمهم، ومنحهم منصةً تمكّنهم من إظهار قدراتهم وتعزّز نموّهم.
يوفّر منهجنا الدراسي للصفين التاسع والعاشر أساسًا متينًا في المواد الدراسية الرئيسية التي تشمل:

  • اللغة العربية
  • الفن
  • الأحياء
  • الكيمياء
  • برمجة الحاسوب
  • الهندسة
  • اللغة الإنجليزية
  • اللغة الفرنسية
  • الدراسات الإسلامية 
  • الرياضيات
  • التربية البدنية
  • الفيزياء
  • تاريخ دولة قطر
  • الدراسات الاجتماعية

كما تلبّي جميع مقرراتنا متطلبات المدارس في دولة قطر والولايات المتحدة والمملكة المتحدة، بل وربما تتفوق عليها، بما يضمن تمكين طلابنا من الدراسة في أي مكان بالعالم.

ومن خلال دروسنا الفريدة في مجال الهندسة، يتعلّم طلابنا الممارسات النظرية في مجال الهندسة، علاوةً على مهارات التصنيع العملية يدويًا وباستخدام أحدث الطابعات ثلاثية الأبعاد وقواطع الليزر وفق طرق التصنيع المختلفة. تساعدهم هذه المهارات في تعزيز ما تعلموه من معرفة ومهارات أكاديمية، ليصبحوا طلّابًا مبتكرين حاصلين على المعارف والمهارات اللازمة لمعالجة المشكلات بأساليب منهجية وعملية.

ونعمل على تحسين مناهجنا الدراسية من خلال مشاركة الطلاب في الرحلات الدولية والمسابقات والنوادي.

سيشارك طلاب الصفوف 11 و 12 في امتحانات / تقييمات معترف بها دوليًا ومعتمدة من خلال مجلس الكلية الأمريكية (Advanced Placement، AP) أو تقييمات أخرى مثل ، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر ، اختبارات A-Level في المملكة المتحدة ، SAT ، ACT ، إلخ. يتم تصميم المناهج الدراسية وفقًا لتفضيلات الطلاب الفردية بالجامعة ، وقد تم تصميم البرنامج للتأكد من أنهم قادرون على الوصول إلى مزيد من الدراسة أينما يرغبون في الذهاب. سيشارك جميع الطلاب في الصفين 11 و 12 في التدريب الداخلي والبحث ، والعمل مع الجامعات والصناعة في المشاريع المتعلقة بدراساتهم مما يعزز فهمهم ويمنحهم تجربة مميزة. يمكن للطلاب الاختيار لمتابعة اهتماماتهم بطرق مصممة خصيصًا لدعم هذه الاهتمامات في الهندسة والطب الحيوي والحوسبة.

في أكاديمية قطر للعلوم والتكنولوجيا، تساعد رحلاتنا الميدانية في بث الإلهام في نفوس طلابنا، وتشجّعهم على طرح التساؤلات والبحث عن إجابات لها؛ فالرحلات تشكّل جزءًا حيويًا من منهجنا الدراسي، وتمكّن الطلاب من فهم التحديات الكبرى في دولة قطر بشكل معمّق من خلال المناقشات مع الخبراء والباحثين والعاملين على إيجاد الحلول في هذا المجال.
في عام 2018، كنّا المدرسة الأولى التي تشرّفت بزيارة محطة أم الحول، وهي أكبر محطة لإنتاج الطاقة وتحلية المياه في دولة قطر. طرح الطلاب أسئلة على الخبراء أثناء الزيارة بشأن العمليات التشغيلية في المحطة، والتحديات التي تواجههم في توفير كميات كافية من المياه بانتظام لمجتمع دولة قطر المتنامي، والخطط المستقبلية للمحطة. كما تمكنّا من زيارة غرفة التحكم، والتعرّف على تقنيات مراقبة المحطة والتحكم بها على مدار اليوم. كانت هذه الزيارة نقطة البداية لمشروع مدته ستة أسابيع يحاول الطلاب من خلاله الإجابة على سؤال، مفاده: "كيف يمكننا ضمان توفير مياه نظيفة تكفي حاجات مجتمعنا؟".
تساعد الرحلات الميدانية أيضًا في ترجمة المواد الدراسية إلى تجارب حياتية. ففي حصة الفيزياء، قررنا أن نزور حلبة سباق العربات لنقيس القوى المؤثرة على السائقين خلال السباق باستخدام تطبيقات الهاتف. وعند العودة إلى مختبرات الفيزياء، تمكنّا من استخدام هذه البيانات في تطوير رسوم بيانية ومقارنات رياضية، فمنحتنا تلك التجربة فرصةً لمقارنة ما لدينا من بيانات مع تجربتنا على أرض الواقع، ومن ثم تكوين فهم واقعي أفضل بشأن هذه القوى. 

 

تتاح أمام طلاب الأكاديمية في كل عام فرصة لتعزيز خبراتهم التعليمية من خلال المشاركة في رحلات دولية. وقد جرى تصميم هذه الرحلات لضمان حصول الطلاب على معارف ومهارات جديدة واكتساب فهم أفضل لمختلف البلدان والثقافات.
في أبريل من عام 2019، سافر طلابنا إلى هولندا للمشاركة في نموذج الأمم المتحدة (MUN) بمدينة هارلم. مثّل كل طالب من الطلاب دولة معينة، وشاركوا في لجان لحل القضايا الدولية الحالية الملحّة، بما في ذلك القضايا البيئية ذات الصلة بالتحديات الكبرى في دولة قطر. وستمنحنا هذه الرحلة فرصة لتحليل التوجّهات التي تتبعها الدولة في مواجهة بعض هذه التحديات، لا سيّما تلك المتعلقة بأمن المياه وابتكار مصدر مستدام للغذاء والتطوير المستدام.
كما سنقوم في السنوات القادمة بتطوير فرص لتقديم الدعم للمجتمعات المحلية والعمل مع طلاب من مدارس مماثلة.

 

بالعمل مع الطلاب، اخترنا إطلاق ثلاثة نوادٍ في السنة الافتتاحية للأكاديمية، ومع نموّ مجتمعنا الطلابي، سنوسّع نطاق النوادي المتاحة ونزيد من تنوعها لنساعد الطلاب في استكشاف اهتماماتهم وتجربة أنشطة جديدة.

الرياضيات
الرياضيات هي المادة المفضّلة لدى طلابنا. ويمثل نادي الرياضيات فرصةً للخروج عن حدود ما يتم تعليمه في الفصل، واستكشاف الطرق المتنوعة لاستخدام الرياضيات. سنشارك في أولمبياد الرياضيات للمرة الأولى هذا العام، ونعمل على تعلّم طرق جديدة لحل المسائل الرياضية غير الاعتيادية. فإذا كنت تحب المسائل الرياضية وخوض التجارب الجديدة، فإن هذا النادي مناسب لك!

نموذج الأمم المتحدة
نموذج الأمم المتحدة هو "محاكاة أكاديمية" لطرق حل المشكلات المطروحة ضمن نطاق أعمال منظمة الأمم المتحدة. ومن خلال المشاركة في هذا النموذج، سيتمكن الطلاب من تعزيز معرفتهم بالعالم علاوةً على صقل مهارات القيادة والتواصل لديهم. ويمنحهم نموذج الأمم المتحدة فرصةً لرؤية التحديات التي يواجهها العالم من وجهة نظر الدول الأخرى، ما ينمي حس التفاهم والتعاطف عندهم. وكجزءٍ من رحلاتنا الدولية، سنشارك في نموذج الأمم المتحدة الذي سيعقد في هولندا في أبريل 2019. 

الروبوتات
لدينا في أكاديمية قطر للعلوم والتكنولوجيا المعدّات الروبوتية لمجموعات "ليغو مايندستورم" و"أوزو". باستخدام هذه المعدات، يتمكن الطلاب من بناء روبوتات وبرمجتها في تطبيقات متنوعة. وفي نادي الروبوتات، يتعلّم الطلاب كيفية تصميم الروبوتات وبرمجتها لإتمام بعض المهام والمنافسة في المسابقات. وستقام أول مسابقة لنا في بداية عام 2019 تحت اسم "سوموبوت"، وفيها سيحاول كل روبوت دفع الروبوتات المنافسة الأخرى إلى خارج الحلبة. طلابنا الآن عاكفون على برمجة هذه الروبوتات؛ فتابعونا باستمرار لمعرفة ما سنفعله في هذا الصدد.